Thematic area description for urology

Kenya has thirty two urologists six of whom are in the University of Nairobi’s Dept of Surgery.  The six include four from the urology unit and Prof. J.M. Kyambi and Dr.Muturi Ndungu both paediatric surgeons within the unit of Paediatric Surgery.  Urology was previously taught as an integral part of the Master of Medicine in General Surgery programme, but since 2014 the master of Medicine programme in urology was launched as a separate course.   The year 2015 will mark the second intake for the unit.

The unit offers training as well s transplant service

The unit is also linked with the upcoming East African Kidney Institute.  Prof Peter Mungai has since been appointed as director of this institute.